Scholarship Programs

Each year, the New Hampshire - Vermont chapter awards scholarships to deserving students pursuing careers in health care finance or health administration.

Christopher F. Weinheimer Scholarship Fund

The Christopher F. Weinheimer Scholarship program provides for four annual $1,000 scholarships to individuals majoring in a health care related field at the University of New Hampshire and the Champlain College.

Marianne Fairall Scholarship Fund

The second was the result of an enhancement that was added by the Board of Directors in 1999. The enhancement allows an immediate family member of an HFMA member to receive $1,000 per year for up to four years while they complete a four year degree at an accredited college or university, continue to major in a financial management related field, and maintain a 3.0 or better grade point average on a 4.0 scale. Two new scholarships are intended to be awarded annually until there are a total of eight scholarships each year.

Applications for the Marianne Fairall Scholarships are due to the committee by June 30th so that we can make the award for the following academic year. The Marianne Fairall Scholarship Application Form should be returned to the address indicated by June 30th to be considered for an award.

Fairall Scholarship Application

Continuing Education Scholarship Fund

  • What is it?

The New Hampshire/Vermont Chapter would like to provide a benefit to its members who wish to continue their formal education in Healthcare Financial Management through a scholarship program. The successful recipient will receive an award of the lesser of $1,000, or the cost of the specific course.

  • Who may benefit?

Any New Hampshire/Vermont HFMA regular or advanced member in good standing who has 10 founders award points may apply for the scholarship. The member must be enrolled in an accredited college or university in a bachelors or masters program concentrating in the field of healthcare finance or administration. The applicant must apply for one course per college term, and is limited to two New Hampshire/Vermont Chapter HFMA Continuing Education scholarship awards in their lifetime.

  • When is it awarded?

Applications will be accepted from the successful candidate on a prospective basis, i.e., prior to the beginning of their course work. The application must be submitted to the chairperson of the Scholarship Committee in writing by November 15 (for coursework beginning during the winter/spring term) or July 15 (for coursework beginning during the summer/fall term) prior to your attendance. The Scholarship Committee will consider all applications and will base its recommendations for awards, subject to Chapter board approval, which will be based on availability of scholarship funds, based on the candidate's ability to prove financial need, service to the Chapter, and ultimately the scholastic performance of the member in the course. The Chapter is currently limited to an annual expenditure of $1,000 at the discretion of the Board of Directors. Payments will be made directly to the school for the benefit of (f/b/o) the recipient.

  • How to apply?

The member must complete the scholarship application and submit all required material prior to July 15 for the Fall semester or November 15 for the Spring semester, as described above, of the year prior to their enrollment in the specific course, which would be covered by the scholarship.

Continuing Education Scholarship Application

If you need further information on either of these programs, please contact Jeffrey Walla (603-518-2643).

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software